Countdown to the Annual Meeting



Register Now


Research Symposium Contest

Abstract submission for 2017 opens February 28.  Make sure you read all the rules below.

May 9. Early Abstract deadline 5:00pm EDT (includes Research Symposium and Club Poster)

May 23. Late Abstract deadline 5:00pm EDT (includes Research Symposium and Club Poster)

August 10. Final Abstract editing deadline.

The student member abstract fee is $30 if submitted by May 9, or $50 if submitted by May 23.

The National Research Symposium Contest develops the ability of students to construct research and competitively present those research findings through oral and poster presentations to judges at the ASA, CSSA, and SSSA Annual Meetings.


  • Any undergraduate student or individual who performed the research as an undergraduate is eligible. Symposium presentation can occur when the student is an undergraduate or up to one semester after graduation.
  • Each author is encouraged to select an appropriate research subject and title, but also is encouraged to consult with others to find out what might make a good research topic. Each paper shall have as a second author an ASA, CSSA, or SSSA member or the student’s academic advisor listed on the Abstract.
  • The paper must be an original product of the contestant.
  • The contestant must meet all deadlines and follow appropriate guidelines for submission of the Certification Sheet and Abstract.
  • Students submitting abstracts must hold active membership in the Societies and will be assessed a $30 fee for each abstract submitted. Abstracts submitted using another person’s membership number will be disqualified. Membership status will be verified by the Societies’ staff.



Oral Contest Chair
Dr. Yoana Newman
UW – River Falls

Poster Contest Chair
Dr. Martha Mamo
Univ. of Nebraska – Lincoln

Rachel Leege, CCA
Manager, Student and Early Career Programs


Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 Research Symposium Contest!

  Section 1   Section 2   Section 3   Section 4   Section 5
  Water &
Environmental Quality
  Soil Microbiology &
  Nutrient Management
& Soil Fertility
  Land Management &
Crop Production
  Soils &
Soil Quality
1st Place Sarah McLarnan 1st Place Alec Minea 1st Place Allison Aubert 1st Place Chutao Liu 1st Place Leah Ellman
2nd Place Skylar Peyton 2nd Place Ayla Martinez 2nd Place Brad Davis 2nd Place Joshua Machicek 2nd Place Cara Mathers
3rd Place Nohely Reyes 3rd Place Casey Martin 3rd Place Garret Thurgood 3rd Place Kathryn Lillie 3rd Place Brittany Moore

Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 Research Symposium Contest!

Oral Session I  Oral Session II

1st Devon Carroll

Pennsylvania State University

1st Andrea Tyler

Brigham Young University

2nd Jessica Bramhall

Kansas State University

2nd Samantha Jo Croat

South Dakota State University

3rd Kristin Horstmann

University of Wisconsin - River Falls

3rd Jonathan Alexander

Univeristy of Wisconsin - River Falls


The Poster Contest was divided into 5 equal sections with the prizes divided between the first place winner of each.

Sarah McLarnan, St. John's University

Alec Minea, St. John's University

Allison Aubert, Kansas State University

Chutao Liu, Cornell University

Leah Ellman, St. John's University